Prologue: In Search of an Origin

This trip did not begin on my arrival in Belgium or even on the Eurostar from St Pancras. It started about ten days ago in Camden Town. It was mid-afternoon and I just finished reading the most saddening and difficult e-mail of my life. It was an ending.

I panicked; I was shaking; I needed to leave my father’s office. I fled downstairs with no other certainty in my mind other than that I needed to find a place where I could be alone and scream as wildly as I liked. I found my bike lock; slung it round my waist, jumped up on my bicycle and shot off. Delancey Street – Parkway – Regents Park Round: a necklace of signposts and street names strangling me. How close and cozening the velvety touch of familiarity felt to me then: there was no-where clear for my mind to rest.

At last I let my bike wrap itself into a whorl on a bank of grass on the St Johns Wood side of Primrose Hill. I couched myself in the grass and performed a kind of funereal lament: rocking myself into a ball like hedgehogs do when they are frightened or the way that flying insects do before they die.

I had just finished reading an essay by Sebald about the cult beliefs in afterlife held by the people of Corsica in the last century. And so, as I expiated, as I rocked and cradled and cried out, I heard my voice rising in tandem with the sounds of thousands of other vampyric-like women in bed-chambers and living rooms in the Mediterranean – howling in an accord which formed a kind of crest of pain.  

The rainbow of my grief peaked and fell; my crying subsided, the only clearly defined thoughts I found were the two mantras: ‘Do not build on crooked foundations’ and the imperative ‘Build’. Now that I think about it, these two mantras are an oxymoron; but it did not appear like that to me then.  It also struck me then how similar the labour of death is to the labour of birth. Both involve expulsion; but death is not about expelling a jelly-like human being (more abstract than concrete), death is about expelling ghosts and memories. Mourning is a more timely process: extracting deep memory, the memory of touch, of another person’s body, buried away in the skin and deep data-files of the body.

Having expelled at least some of my grief, I returned to my bike and climbed to the top of Primrose Hill. Suddenly, and for no particular reason than a desire to be mobile, I decided to perform a tour of my origins.

I started just there: at the foot of Primrose Hill, where I attended primary school and where I saw the school’s caretaker Ron Holding, standing calmly upon a ladder and doing some work on the roof.

Up I cycled, through Belsize Park, past a hairdresser I used to go to, past old school friends’ houses, along Belsize Park Road and up Rosslyn Hill. I skated down the narrow side-road to the Royal Free Hospital where I was a regular guest for some years in my adolescence. Then back up to Hampstead, past old school haunts, birthday drinks locations. I suddenly realised how ridiculously privileged I was, how privileged I had been all my life and never really known it. Then, as though I had planned it (which I hadn’t), I returned suddenly and inexplicably to the Hampstead Antiques Emporium – where my mother works. I had returned to my real origin, to my omphalos, to my omega. To a modest market-stall in a line of busy, chatting women. Then I saw my mother — beautiful still, eyes glittering with pleasure and thanks — and I knew I should stay there for a while.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reportage, Songs

Leave a comment